Promising Quaker Students Looking For a Full Scholarship

Here are three scholarship students in a Quaker scholarship/loan program who are looking for a sponsor. The students are not Quakers.

She is 19 years old and is studying her second year in medicine. She comes from a non indigenous family from El Tejar, in the department of Chimaltenango. Even though her home town is relatively close to Guatemala City (about 32 miles) she needed our help to continue her career. Her mother works as a teacher in a private secondary school, where the payment is very low compared to what she could earn in a public school, but it has been the only job she has been able to get. Her father used to work in a company in Guatemala City but sadly he was fired. Now he is doing all kinds of informal jobs, like selling home-made ice cream in the streets, which doesn’t make very much profit. For this reason they have problems in supporting their three children and especially the career of Ana Beatriz, even though she is a very brilliant student. In the recent years our students in medicine have had problems in passing the courses, especially in the first two years. But since the beginning, Ana came with grades above the usual average of our students and she finished the first year in medicine satisfactorily. She is a very good example of many people in urban places who have some advantages over rural people but also have lots of problems in achieving their goals. After she graduates as a general doctor she would like to become a pediatrician and work with the children of her home.


Vilma is 18 years old and comes from Pachay Las Lomas, a village in San Martín Jilotepeque, in the department of Chimaltenango. She is studying law, in the first year at the Mariano Galvez University. Her parents barely can read and write but have tried to provide education for their 5 children. Even though, the two older children couldn’t go beyond junior high school, the other three have completed the secondary and currently Vilma and a sister, who is studying medicine in Cuba, have started their university degree. Vilma wants to become a lawyer to help her people, especially women, to know and defend their rights. In this sense, Vilma has had a big inspiration: her mother. This woman has been part and founder of a couple of women’s organizations in her village. She has helped women to get organized as weavers and sell their products at better places and prices, and also with projects of raising chickens and pigs. Now that Vilma has finished secondary school and got a diploma as a primary teacher she is involved with the organization where her mother participates and is helping them to achieve their goals. With such an influence we don’t doubt Vilma will be a good leader for her community and get important changes for all of them.



Eulalia is 22 years old and comes from Aldea Yulichal, Soloma in the department of Huehuetenango. She is studying her second year in law at the Mariano Galvez University. She comes from a typical rural family of Guatemala, with a large number of children. She is the fifth of ten children and is the first one that has finished secondary school and entered university. This has not been easy, since many families still believe that education is worthy only for men and not for women. In order to complete her secondary level and graduate as a primary teacher, she had to leave her town and move to Antigua Guatemala, about 400 kilometers from her village. She studied in a Catholic boarding school for indigenous women with the help of a scholarship and graduated in 2005. She always believed she could do more and by the time she studied at the boarding school, she discovered that a good way to help her people in that very remote area was to help them in courts and other legal matters, using her own language. But doing this without any help was something impossible. Now with the help of our program and a half-time job she is making a reality of her dream: to become a lawyer. She hopes that in the future she can help her younger siblings to continue their studies and make things a little easier than in her case.


“An average of the three is about $90 per month, which makes about $900 to $1000 per year. This is the typical amount a university student needs to pay his most elementary needs. They can change depending on the career, school, town where they are from, etc.

Miguel Angel” June 8, 2007

No Comments »

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI | Comments RSS